Fledgling Friday: Thunderbird

Hey reader(s). I’m sorry for last week’s lack of a Fledgling Friday. I kinda ran out of new comics to talk about, but I have one now.

So, for the first Fledgling Friday in April, let’s take a gander at the appropriately named

Thunderbird, by Linkenlog.

tumblr_n0perbBtoi1qjdi9go1_400

In a harsh desert landscape, where gods and magic are a part of life, no creature is more vital than the rain-bringing Thunderbird. But one day, the Thunderbird is attacked and, with its disappearance, everything is threatened. Young Molly Donelly works to protect her family after the loss of her father. When she finds a young Thunderbird, wounded and afraid, she begins a quest to reunite the baby with it’s vanished mother. But mysterious enemies prowl the desert…

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again – I enjoy mythology-based stories and the Native American influence is well appreciated. The Thunderbird has always been one of my favorite mythical beings and I really like the style used to depict it here.

Even with only 30 pages, we’re still given a good feel for the characters – Molly’s character is the strongest, but her sisters, mother, and a few other characters all have moments when their personalities shine. I particularly love how Molly manages to blur gender lines – without being obvious about it – simply by being the “man” of the family.

Charming, amicable characters, colorful, stylish artwork, and a great setup for a fantasy story give Thunderbird everything it needs to soar to the top of my reading list.

“Thunderbird updates every Saturday, except when it doesn’t.”

 

 

About Bedlam

Reviews webcomics regularly because he's a little bit insane. View all posts by Bedlam

You must be logged in to post a comment.

